Research.

For the research I decided that I wanted to stick by my river island project and continue with the whole military trend. My river island project was all about travel and finding yourself. The trend was named crusade this was a term used by the military when the would travel. During the river island project I design for women, I decided to use wool and heavy cotton drill for my designs. So for this project I decided to push myself and design menswear as I have never done this before so it become a bit of a challenge.

Setting my trend.

When research for my trend I continued to use my research for river island which was all about the flight jacket and extended my research from there. I came across the military flying combat uniform and instantly went down this roof using this for my inspiration. As well as noticing how soldiers are always carrying big rucksacks around with them obviously for them to able to survive. This is when I came up with the idea of naming my trend survival, the military are constantly trying to survive, even down to the clothing its camouflage to hide from the enemy’s, thick and warm to help them survive the weather this is what I wanted to base my trend on. Using the idea of having thick heavy clothing to set my trend for A/W20.

Finding my customer.

After creating my trend I had to find my customer. I knew I wanted a grungy looking male, Early 20s, and bald to suit my army theme. I finally came up with this guy for my muse, I found him whilst looking through vogue. I really thought he suited my theme and was the perfect image of what I was looking for.

Leave a comment