Final garment and photoshoot.

Whilst making the garment, I found it a lot easier to do as I had already made a toile. I started by cutting it all out on fabric as I was sharing with another student so we had limited. We both payed our patterns in the most economical way so we both had enough to fit all our patterns as well as having scraps for samples.

I started by making the pocket up and sewing it onto the front bodice. I ending up using YouTube to make the pocket as I hadn’t made a pocket before I was actually really pleased with my sewing on the pocket as I was able to get it as close as I could to the edge and made it look as professional as I could. Then sewing up the side seams. I then sewn in my plackets and cuffs I found this a lot tricker than the pocket as it’s really fiddly but I believe my sewing was pretty well done on this project.

The biggest struggle I had whilst making the short was the bottom sleeve, after removing all the seams I didn’t have a way of sewing it into the garment, after a long discussion with Beth and Irene we decided that I’d need a facing the the sleeve would be attached to, the facing wood also be attach them to the garment around the neck line. The collar would also be sewn into it being sandwiched between the garment and facing. The facing was the thing I struggled with the most. I keep sewing it in the wrong way so either the sleeve would come through the wrong side or inside out. But after figuring it out I sewed it in as well as the collar I then added the last detail which was the band along the cotton and the eyelets. I then created a belt that was black and white fabric sewn together.

I thought my photoshoot went really well and the model looked great in my shirt I decided not to pair my short with anything as I wanted all the attention to be on the shirt as it is a very strong piece on its own and I did not want it to look too much and messy. I thought the shoot was overall great and decided not the tie the belt as it was looked too bunched up on the model, it looked really edgy with it undone. I was overall pleased with my outcome I thought my sewing was really well done and my photoshoot went better than expected.

Leave a comment